MPs call for young achiever nominations

27 Sep 2017 Benalla Ensign, Benalla VIC (General News) Nominations for the Victorian Young Achiever Awards are now open and both sides of the political spectrum want local young achievers to be recognised. State Member for Northern Victoria Jaclyn Symes is encouraging all residents to nominate a local young person. We all know many young children and teenagers who contribute to our communities and these awards are a fantastic way to celebrate their commitment and achievements to the local community, Ms Symes said. State Member for Euroa and Deputy Leader of The Nationals Steph Ryan agreed and said the awards were the perfect opportunity to recognise Victorias young people. Ms Ryan, who is also Shadow Minster for Young Victorians said the Euroa electorate, and Victoria more broadly, was fortunate to have so many hard working, talented and community-minded young people. I am fortunate to meet many as I travel around the state and am so often blown away by what they are achieving, Ms Ryan said. These awards are an opportunity to say thank you and to recognise their efforts. Nominations are being sought in the following categories: Bartercard Online Achievement Award; Saward Dawson Community Service and Social Impact Award; The Victorian Government Group Achievement in the Community Award; The Coffee Club Arts and Fashion Award; Berry Street Create Change Award; Academy Graphics Regional Achiever Award; Kangan Institute Inspirational TAFE Student Award; Royal Flying Doctors Service Victoria Regional and Rural Health Award; and First National Real Estate Leadership Award. The awards will culminate with a Gala Presentation Dinner on Friday, May 18, next year at Flemingtons Event Centre. Category winners will each receive $1000 into an account in their name from Bank of Melbourne; a $1000 Bartercard Account and a magnificent trophy. One of the 10 category winners will be chosen as the Victorian Young Achiever of the Year and will receive a $2000 flight voucher from Jetstar and a state trophy. To submit a nomination, simply go online to and click Nominate Now. Nominations close Monday, December 18. For assistance, phone the awards office on 9720 1638 or email [email protected] Licensed by Copyright Agency. You may only copy or communicate this work with a licence.