New look for a new season

13 Jun 2017 Campaspe News, Campaspe VIC (General News) by Jessica Lamb A NEW season means new uniforms for the Rochester Basketball Association thanks to a $992 government grant. Club president Darren Pain said the grant would be used for new domestic playing singlets as current ones are falling apart. We hope this will improve our community participation numbers as all our current players will be eligible to try out for junior squad teams this July, he said. Two years ago we created a squad team and last year grew that to two teams. We want to expand into the younger age groups and this grant allows the kids to get involved without having to break the bank to buy uniforms. Anything that involves kids in the community in a higher level of sport is great and this grant enables us to do just that. The squad season finished in March and we had 20 kids involved; our boys team have been quite competitive with a few wins under their belts and the girls have been very passionate and had a lot of fun. This grant comes off the back of the Rochester Twilight Netball Association providing the donation for the female squad uniforms. Member for Northern Victoria Jaclyn Symes said the Andrews Labor Government is giving grassroots sports clubs the support they need to grow and help more people than ever play the sports they love. Grassroots sports clubs are the heart and soul of many towns throughout Northern Victoria and I am pleased the Labor Sate Government is delivering for these clubs, Ms Symes said. Everyone deserves the very best equipment, clubs also need more team uniforms to grow their ranks and that is what Labor is delivering. Our Sporting Club Grants Program is removing barriers and supporting more people of all ages and abilities to participate in grassroots sports and realise their sporting dreams. The next round of the Sporting Club Grants Program opens on 19 June 2017. For more information visit Caption Text: Rochester basketballers with their new uniforms. Back row coach Zac Cooke, Ian Fuller, Rueben Hooper and Kyle Waters; front row Robert Bessell, Dylan Oaff, Tom Hughes and Lachlan Trewick. Licensed by Copyright Agency. You may only copy or communicate this work with a licence.